About Us

I’m Simon and I’m 38, at times in my life that age seemed an awfully long way away. There were a lot of things when I was younger that I always wanted to do (traveling being one of them), but was always going to do them tomorrow. Un-surprisingly tomorrow never came, My twenties revolved mainly (No, make that completely!!) around playing Rugby and having fun. Concentrating on a career and planning for anything in the future came a very distant second place.It was not until I was fast approaching 30 that all of a sudden I realised that life was flashing past me and I was getting nowhere fast. About the same time that I decided to get my career and life sorted (read: finally grow-up), I met Charlotte and her children. Things quickly fell into place and we married in 2000.

As both our careers have advanced the lost plans of traveling were occasionally discussed. Previous holidays to India and Thailand had given us and the kids a taste for the road less traveled and we knew in the future we would undertake a longer trip.

One day a plan brewed in Charlotte’s mind that we should say “what the heck” and do it now with the kids. My first response to this was “Yeah that would be an amazing family life experience!” Then I thought “Oh, my god how do we do this?”

A lot of research later and here we are today all rev’d up and ready to go. Umm “Did we cancel the milk???”

I’m looking forward to so many things about the trip. The hustle and bustle of India with it’s multitude of colours and smells. A long train journey through India or China is a cultural adventure in itself. Especially looking forward to returning to Hong Kong where I lived until I was 3 years old. Fiji and The Cook Islands promise beautiful sands, seas. I’m hoping to get a game of Rugby in Austrailia, New Zealand and Fiji. Not sure the fitness is up to it, but I’ll give it a shot.

America is just so huge with so many ticklist sights, you almost don’t know where to start!

These are but a few of things that lie ahead of us, each day will hopefully bring a new adventure to encounter, new faces to meet, journey to make or language to stumble through.

We’ve tried to prepare ourselves as much as possible for the things to come, but I’m sure there are many things we’ve not even dreamt of that may catch us by surprise.One year round the world – I’m ready as I’ll ever be…….!!!

My travel dreams began in 1992, aged twenty one I had just qualified as a nurse in Birmingham and planned to spend the next two to three years “working my way around the world”.
In reality this meant I fancied picking grapes in Europe for a few months in the sun and then bum around alternately working in bars and drinking the fruits of my labours with my then boyfriend Jem.
Fast forward fourteen years and I live in Plymouth, I’m married to Simon and mum to Alister and Maisie aged 13 and 10 respectively. I feel really lucky, I have a great job and lots of friends.

I’ve never forgotten my travel dreams and increasingly Simon and I seemed to spend many a quiet hour daydreaming about getting away from it all together. Our children are growing up fast and that really bothered me, soon I could see my lovely, funny, funky Ali leaving for Uni with not so much as a backward glance, pausing only to grab his guitar on the way.

Slowly but surely a plan started to form in my mind, what if we didn’t leave it until the kids had left home? What if we went within the next few years? Could it be done?

As soon as I was sure, I told Simon straight away, much more thoughtful and practical than me, he immediately began to research the internet for like minded individuals who had done this with their children.
The inspirational Flemming family made my mind up for me they had traveled around the world, in their words with two adults, two children and three rucksacks. If they could do it – so could we!

It’s hard to say what I am looking forward to most; I love the heat and sun and trying different foods. India was amazing and I can’t wait to explore it further. South East Asia seems to me as far away from Plymouth as I could get and I feel nervous and excited at the prospect of traveling around on trains and buses.

I’m not sure what to expect from China but walking on the Great Wall looks cool and I can’t wait to see the terracotta warriors. I want to try surfing in Australia and I’m going to be brave and do some extreme sports in New Zealand.
There seems to be so many things to do in America and most of my aspirations for the states revolve around scenes from films. So I guess I’ll be shouting “Adrian” from the top of the steps of The Philadelphia Museum of Art, stalking along Rodeo Drive telling anyone who will listen they “made a big mistake-huge” and encouraging all joggers to “run Forest run”.

Lastly I plan to drink a few Corona’s over the next 29,000 miles – I’ll let you know how I get on!

My names Ali, I’m 13 years old and live for my bike, my guitar, good music and my mates. I play guitar and have been doing so for 3 years. When I’m older I’m going to be a ROCKSTAR as it’s what I love.

I’m really going to miss all my friends, but I know I’ll keep in contact for our year away! I can’t wait to go now I’m counting down the days until I can leave school!!

I’m really looking forward to India and China because I love the mad atmosphere, some of which I experienced last year on our mini tour of Thailand. I am really looking forward to trying some extreme sports such as bungee jumping and riding the rapids in New Zealand and surfing in Australia and the Pacific Islands. After that there is America and who knows what will happen there?

All in all I’m a little bit nervous and kinda worried but really I just can’t wait!!!!!

Hi my name is Maisie – WHATEVER !!
I’m into clothes, mates and good music such as The Kooks, The Arctic Monkeys, Razorlight and The Fratellis.
I’m looking forward to our trip but I think I will really miss my friends and family. My best friends are Ellie, Daisy, Taisha, Sean and Dec. My boyfriend is Dominic.
My cat Saffy is really cute and funny and I am going to miss her too. Other things I like are going to my nana’s farm and going to see my Dad and Caron.
My favourite things are watching TV, rollerblading and hanging with my mates.
I’m mostly looking forward to our leaving party, going to China, Fiji and especially Hollywood- mwah mwah darling!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>